Alumni teachers win prestigious Waddill Award

Web Exclusives


Heather King (MA ’97) and Jayne Grubbs (’01) are the newest winners of the Waddill Award, presented annually to two alumni for exemplary teaching at the secondary and elementary levels. Grubbs is an elementary school teacher in Kernersville and King is a high school math teacher in Clemmons.

Both winners received a $20,000 cash prize, one of the largest monetary prizes of any teaching award in the country.

The Waddill Award is presented annually to two outstanding public or private school teachers who are Wake Forest alumni. The award, named for Professor Emeritus of Mathematics Marcellus Waddill, was created in 1994 and is funded by his son, David Waddill.

Staff Favorites

A Mother's Day Tale

by Carol L. Hanner

Read More

Exit Smiling

by Maria Henson ('82)

Read More

Restoring the Coastline

by Kelly Greene ('91)

Read More